Assessments at CCA

DRA2 – Diagnostic Reading Assessment 2

Grade Kindergarten

Aids in identification and planning for kindergarten and early elementary students whose reading readiness skill are below grade level expectations.


Grades K-8 Math and Reading

Monitors student progress and State standards throughout the school year. Data is used for instructional planning and monitoring. It is an adaptive computer assessment.

NNAT3 – Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test – Third Edition

Grades 2 & 6

This assessment is a brief nonverbal measure of general ability. It fairly measures ability for students from different cultural and linguistic backgrounds.

ITBS - Iowa Assessment of Basic Skills

Grades 2 & 6 (if score 90% and above on NNAT3)

This assessment identifies students’ skills in Reading, Writing, Math, Social Studies and Science. It assesses both foundational and higher-order thinking skills.

ACCESS for ELLs– Accessing Comprehension and Communication in English State to State for English Language Learners

ACCESS for ELLs 2.0 is an English language proficiency assessments for Grades K- 12. The test is administered every year to help school districts monitor the English language development of students identified as English language learners.

CMAS – Colorado Measures of Academic Success

Many answers to questions related to the large-scale standardized assessment system in Colorado can be found on the Colorado Law General Assessment Information page on the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) website.

ELA (English Language Arts) and Math – Grades 3-8

Science – Grades 5 & 8

Social Studies – Grades 4 & 7 (if our school is chosen by the district)

NAEP - National Assessment of Educational Progress
Grade 4 – random sample of students in 2018-2019 school year
NAEP is given to a representative sample of students across the country. In February 2019, a sample of our 4th graders will take the Reading and Math NAEP assessment.

Archived Assessments

NWEA – MAP assessment has been replaced by iReady

CSAP, TCAP, and PARCC have been replaced by CMAS ELA and Math

CogAT assessment has been replaced by NNAT3